Tyrants of Texas

I had so wanted to photograph the Scissor-tailed Flycatchers who captivated me during my exile at Sheppard AFB in Wichita Falls, three years ago. During the recent road trip in Texas, I spotted them along the highway, but there were no favorable photo opportunities. I was pleased to see that [info]andreybar captured an image of my favorite Texan bird, having taken a similar route, apparently.

And as consolation, I was able to capture a family-mate:

Western Kingbird (Tyrannus verticalis)

This series was taken at a gas station just north of Austin. We slowly approached our perching prey by auto with the window rolled down and the camera ready.



[Original]

~ by finchwench on Saturday, 31 May 2008.

Leave a Reply

