Technically . . .

The hinges on my ol’ Toshiba gave out, and it seems that there was no way to access them without dissecting the entire notebook. So that is what we did. Well, that is what Roman did, with delight, and without regard for instructions. I, on the other hand, was mostly just having a fit.

But Bulbulicious appreciated the opportunity to explore my eviscerated notebook. She stomped on the modem. Who needs a modem anyway?

27 September 2008

She decided to conduct some re-wiring of the CPU.


She stirred the dust in the fan. The lint-laden heat sink explains why Bulbuls have been able to enjoy the “hearth” of my notebook before bedtime.

She had an altercation with a formidable blue LED.

Bulbulicious nearly managed to steal away with some of the screws (of which there turned out to be a surplus after the Toshiba was re-assembled . . .). I basically passed out, overwhelmed with despair. When I awoke, I learned that they never made it to the hinges, and I had to accept that it was time for a new notebook anyway. At least Bulbulcious had a great time!

~ by finchwench on Saturday, 4 October 2008.

13 Responses to “Technically . . .”

  1. Ha, thats great. Did the finch get it running again?

  2. I type from that Toshiba now, but no thanks to Bulbulicious. Her efforts were for her own entertainment.

    As another technicality, Bulbuls (who have their own family, Pycnonotidae) are not really finches. Finches are those of Fringillidae, but sometimes include, in aviculture for example, Emberizidae and Estrildidae.

    Anyway, Bulbulicious does not care for the Finches. She is especially intolerant of White Zebra Finches!

  3. Haha “She had an altercation with a formidable blue LED.” – hilarious!

  4. Adam, you should see her in action with the Ostrich feather duster!

  5. Great story FinchWench. I love it!

  6. I’ve never really had a desire to house birds as pets (not due to a dislike, simply just never really thought about it), but this story alone makes me want one! Oh, and I thoroughly agree with Adam on the LED quip.

  7. Well, Bulbulicious is a “special needs” bird on account of Diva Syndrome.

  8. I will have to agree with Bulbulicious about blue LEDs.

    Meanwhile, I just learned that bulbuls (some bulbuls) can subsist on beeswax. Seems worth a try… Maybe you need to seed her digestive system with (bacteria from) honeyguide saliva first? Nobody knows, but we _should_ know, and you’re equipped to find out!

  9. What is wrong with blue LEDs? I think that Bulbulicious’s aggression was overstated.

    As for the wax, that explains a lot! Bulbulicious was habitually snacking on candles.

    Actually, she was eating the gel candles too! When she was very young, I was shocked and concerned when I noticed that she had ingested a good lot of the rubbery underside of a mouse pad (and thankfully seemed quite healthy, nevertheless)!

    A ceravory/keriphagy(?) post is in order.

  10. The problem with blue LEDs is that manufacturers think we like to have them shine directly into our eyes, and so put them in everything. Maybe it’s just meant as a reminder not to buy too much electronic junk. The idea of owning samples of silicon carbide semiconductor is very appealing, in the abstract. So, maybe we should just not turn those gadgets on.

    Apparently what isn’t known is where bulbuls get the enzymes to digest the wax — do they produce it themselves, or do they have bacteria that do the job? Do you know whether she is digesting it well? If it depends on bacteria, maybe she hasn’t got the right kind, and just passes the wax. Might she actually eat something she can’t actually digest? I wonder if you could culture a wax-digesting bacterial culture from her guano. There’s so much yet to be discovered!

  11. Also, does she poach your petroleum paraffin candles, or only beeswax ones? Can she digest both equally?

    The general topic is mentioned on Tetrapod Zoology, linked from my name below. I’m sure Darren would welcome any reports of results.

  12. I am fond of blue LEDs and LASERs just for the story, I guess. But I was under the impression that I was owning GaN, which is more appealing than SiC.

    I will write more of the ceravory in Bulbuls topic later. Thank you for the link.

  13. My information was obsolete. GaN (InGaN, etc) appears to be the order of the day for modern blue LEDs. (My fondness for SiC led me astray.) Blu-ray drives appear to use an “ordinary” red laser bounced through a frequency doubler.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.